wind powered “animals” – robots with no need for electricity

November 3, 2011


I am very much into green energy, keeping an eye on solar and wind technologies.

Any regular reader  of this blog will also know I am keen on robots (still waiting for a commercially available Asimo).

I have discovered there are wind powered “animals” which can move themselves around using the flow of air.

At present they are curiosities (as cinema was about 110 years ago) but as one who  jabbers on about convergence (my phone is now my camera, games machine, web browser, etc etc – and may soon replace my laptop) add a computer as the brain of these animals (possibly wind powered to, but with chargeable batteries), able to control the ‘sails’ and chose direction and control whether to move or not, and we suddenly have independent robots not dependent on electricity from the grid.

This should be a really good idea, but I keep thinking about The Matrix and the rebellion of the solar-powered robots/ computers leading the humans to “burn the sky” (according to Morpheus).

What extremes would we have to go to in order to stop wind powered robots?

