Books with sound?

September 29, 2011


One of the latest innovations in e publishing is books with sound effects.

Hmmm… I may be wrong, but I have to say, I am not convinced. Why would you want your eBook to play music throughout, like the incidental music in films.

Surely, you just need to buy an audio book and have it read to you with the incidental music there, rather than alongside your actual text? I often listen to random music when I read, but it is usually something I block out when I get engrossed (usually only noticing the sound when the playlist ends and some random mp3 comes on).

So, I remain unconvinced by the innovation of reading with its own pre-defined soundtrack, as do others. But let’s see what the eBook buying public think.

One Response to “Books with sound?”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Children’s books have had sound for years. Maybe this is just an extension of that. I can see that for those circumstances sound is useful, but I personally don’t want to read a novel with a ‘specially selected’ soundtrack humming along in the background.

    Like


Comments are closed.

