What was your fav book as a child?

December 17, 2010


What book did you really like when you were a kid?

When I was reasonably young, I really loved The Shrinking of Treehorn by Florence Parry Heide.

When I was at school there were some books about pirates (the blue pirate, the red pirate, the green pirate, as I recall). But I have no idea who they were by or what they were called. I remember loving them when I was in the first year at junior school. I think one of the pirates got stuck on an island and met a Griffin.

A little older and I got into Roald Dahl. I don’t think I ever read one of his books I didn’t like.After reading his children’s books it was pretty awesome to discover his adult fiction also rocked.

Eventually I read The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien and from fantasy I got into sci-fi as well with John Christopher and The Tripods Trilogy.

Any recommendations from your childhood welcomed:

(and if you know anything about the pirate reading books, I’d love to hear from you.)

 

 

 

4 Responses to “What was your fav book as a child?”

  1. Laura Says:

    ‘King of the copper mountains’ by Paul Biegel. It was the first book that made me cry and therefore the book that made me really fall in love with reading.

    Like

  2. Dr_Reba Says:

    Sorry, don’t remember the pirates but I must agree with you on Roald Dahl, so dark, so delicious!

    As a kid, I loved the Moomins, anything by Enid Blyton and Harriet the Spy. I just adored books! I wrote about my favourite childhood book earlier in the year in a blog I no longer update: http://celestialmotherhood.blogspot.com/2010/02/rosebud.html

    I’ve just introduced my 4 year old to “A Children’s Treasury of Milligan” Perfect 🙂

    Like

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    I loved The Worst Witch at junior school and Enid Blyton.

    Like

  4. Jon Says:

    We read Lord of the Flies at Jr school which was quite scary for us at the time

    Like


Comments are closed.

