Computers (and robots…) to stop working in 2038

October 28, 2010


I expect this is some kind of joke, but according to some thinkers (possibly the same ones who got us all in a pickle about the millenium Bug during the late 1990s):

Computers will stop working at 03:14:07 UTC on Tuesday, 19 January 2038 because of the Y2K38 problem.

I’ll be into my 60s by then, so right now am not particularly bothered by this, I expect someone will figure out how to fix this by then – the Y2K bug didn’t actually do anything drastic, so I am struggling to raise myself up into a panic.

But, just in case, just so I am clear, if my Asimo breaks down on this day I will seek compensation from Honda!

 

 

One Response to “Computers (and robots…) to stop working in 2038”

  1. Dave Says:

    Screw 2038, I’m worrying about the year 10000…how many computer systems out there cater for 5 digit years?!

    Like


Comments are closed.

